Supermarket Bargains!

I always try to visit my local Waitrose in the evenings (top tip learnt from a friend of mine!) as in the evenings they reduce the price of a lot of items going out of date. They seem to do this especially in my local Waitrose and Marks and Spencer, more than larger supermarkets, maybe they have more stock with a close sell by date as these supermarkets are slightly smaller? Anyway I have picked up a few bargains every now and again but this week I was particularly impressed, wait for it, I found two items in the free from section! Some Udi’s plain bagels, which I have been waiting to try for a long time, and also some Genius Triple Seeded Rolls, another item I had been waiting to try. I was particularly looking forward to the Genius rolls as I had tried the Triple Seeded Loaf and it is my favourite so far, so there was no way I was leaving Waitrose without these rolls in my hand! Bagels have always been a favourite of mine, back when I was extremely unhealthy and non-celiac I used to have these for breakfast most days! Now I would only eat them as a special treat on the weekends. 

So the Udi’s bagels were reduced from £2.30 to £1.35 and the Genius rolls were reduced from £2.40 to £1.89! These items had already been reduced that day to this price as they were not going out of date until the next day, but if I had gone back the next day they would have probably been reduced further, however I was desperate to try them both and any reduction is better than nothing! 

IMG_9464 IMG_9466

 

I have tried the Genius rolls and they tasted as good as a gluten roll, which I have realised is extremely rare! I am yet to try the bagels but I will be shortly and will let you know my opinion!

Signature

One thought on “Supermarket Bargains!

Leave a comment