Gluten Free Sandwich Thins

I was round a friends house yesterday when they mentioned they had tried Warburton’s Sandwich Thins (the gluten version) and how nice they were and they suggested investigating to see if there was a gluten-free version of this. That evening, whilst shopping in Tesco’s for everyone else to have fajitas I spotted the gluten-free version in the Free From section. I was actually looking for my usual gluten-free pitta as that is what I usually eat when everyone else has fajitas as I am yet to find some wraps that I actually want to try, so upon spotting these I thought I would give them a go. The only downside of the gluten-free versions of products (as usual!) is the price increase! For a pack of gluten Warburtons Sandwich thins is £1.20 or luckily for non-celiacs 2 for £2, for 6 in each pack! Meanwhile us celiacs pay £2.50 for four in a pack. Never mind, it isn’t like we have a choice in the matter!

So I was starving by the time we had been round Tesco’s and got all the food to cook (nachos to start!) and was excited to try these gluten-free sandwich thins. As per usual (I need to start preparing more) I forgot to take some pictures of the nachos and everyone else’s dinner! I liked the idea of these thins as they had seeds on which always makes things a bit more interesting; sunflower seeds, millet seeds and linseed, and they had different serving suggestions on the back. I decided to toast them and then add my chicken, salsa, red onion and cheese into it as my own version of a gluten-free fajita, and it worked! It tasted amazing and was a really nice option to have as it wasn’t dry like a lot of gluten-free products can be, and acted also as a tortilla wrap for fajitas so I could fit a lot of filling in. I also may have gotten slightly carried away and eaten too much, so I was then extremely full after.

Overall, I am very impressed with the product, but it is a shame there aren’t six in a packet like in the gluten containing version and also more than double the price! However, it was nice to have a bread option that actually tastes like proper bread and doesn’t crumble!

IMG_9708 IMG_9709 IMG_9713

 

Signature